About Baksa

Baksa district was curved out of a part of Nalbari, Barpeta, Kamrup and small portion of Darrang district. As a result of historic BTC(Bodoland Territorial Council) accord signed on February 10, 2003,(see Notification) formed BTAD(Bodoland Territorial Autonomous Districts) with four districts namely Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri. Though the original word 'Baksa' is not above controversy, a good chunk of population prefer to use 'Bagsa' in lieu of 'Baksa'. The popular assumption that 'Baksa' is the misspelt form of 'Bangsa'--a 'Dzonkha' word meaning a farm house and a corridor as it is known that Bhutanese king and subjects used this area for trade and passage to the plains. 'Bangsa' (Bagsa or Baksa) was in fact one of the most important 'Dooars' of Bhutan. Now the name Baksa is officially taken and used.
read more>>

Message Board

Selection List of PMEGP beneficiaries (Second Phase, 2016-17) DICC   KVIB   KVIC   

NFSA Beneficiary List

Know about "Assist" a project of National Foundation For Communal Harmony(NFCH) (Home Page > Programmes)


Manas was declared as a National Park in 1990 which is located in the foothills of Himalayan region and becomes the site of international importance under UNESCO's world heritage convention in 1988 as well as Biosphere Reserve in 1989. The Manas National Park which is the major tourist spot of Baksa district is also the first tiger reserve under Tiger Project. There are as many as 60 species of mammals, 312 birds, 42 reptiles, 7 amphibian, 54 fishes and more than 100 species of insects.
read more>>